Thumb_logo_white Discover Create Go Pro
Log In / Sign Up
powered by podOmatic

July 26, 2014

Fresh off of their performance at the Kansas City Electro Music Festival, Basement Of Extra Power offers Taped Rugs listeners right here and now a slice from their July 10th "Spots Of Spurious Rot" session. This thought-provoking riddle is entitled: "Blind Spot In Your Mind."

Basement Of Extra Power =

Synthesizers, Keyboards, Sound Samples, Loops, Effects

Electronic Basses, Acoustic Bass, Mooger Fooger, Effects

Electronic Guitar, Vocoder/Synthesizer, Tapes, Preparations, Toys, Loops, Effects

Plenty more Taped Rugs recordings are available for curious streamers and downloaders here:


Presenting a small collection of other languages as interpreted by C. Goff III on several of his 21st Century recordings. Any resemblance between these and any actual languages is strictly coincidental.

Plenty more Taped Rugs Productions are waiting for your ears here:

Other Languages

June 8th, 2014

1 Gentle Sway - from "Bacterial Culture," 2004
2 Bobbababa - from "Foraged For, Found, & Forged," 2002
3 Ine Vine Violet (Hannah Ann Agnew) - from "Acren Wacren Waney Vo," 2012
4 Breezes To Breathe (#2) - from "Breezes To Breathe," 2008
5 Modeled Flesh - from "Arduous Girdling," 2005


Basted In Turkey Sauce

May 10th, 2014

Turkey Makes Me Sleepy = Mikadams, C. Goff III, Eric Matchett

Born in 1997 in Lawrence, Kansas. Met at meetings of KAW Community Radio. Released a dozen albums, plus other recordings/collections. Lots of instruments, non instruments. Lots of styles, lots of non-styles. Still alive today.

1 Edna Lena Loo/Eidolon - from "Live At Alley Cat Records" (1997)
2 Quimby Trimble KAW Radio Station ID - from "Gobbling Up The Dreams" (2001)
3 I Donut Know - from "My First Adventure Into 3-D" (1998)
4 Glutton For Your Mutton - from "Gobbling Up The Dreams" (2001)
5 Eric's Convertible - from "Six With Pix" (2005)


For several months after an automobile accident last September, a series of complications related to the crash gradually took away the voice and ability to comfortably move the right arm and shoulder of the mastermind of Taped Rugs Productions, Charles Rice Goff III. By March of this year, Goff had regained much of his lost physical powers and began to focus his energy on making a new solo album of original songs based on melodies that he had dreamed over the last few years. This creation of this album is now in progress.

To celebrate this rebirth of sorts, Taped Rugs Presents this podcast of solo song recordings that Goff has made over the years. The fourth song in this presentation, "Stay," is the first completed piece for the new album (yet unreleased to the public, of course). While "pop" is potentially the genre that many of these pieces could be grouped into, it would be highly uncharacteristic for the Warner Brothers to offer Goff a recording contract after hearing any of them. The last five pieces in this set are all based on melodies that Goff had dreamed. This method of songwriting has been a part of Goff's life since he was very young, and he regards his ability to retain the music that he dreams as a gift from the gods (and he thanks those gods for providing the world with recording technology too!).

Plenty more of Goff's and other Taped Rugs Productions are waiting for your ears here:

Crop Of The Pops

April 17, 2014

1 Top Of The World (Carpenter/Bettis) - from "33 And A Third," 1992
2 Wallpaper Shells For Deliberate Pastels - from "Shifted By Prevailing
Whim," 2011
(featuring Tapegerm Collective open loops by Arthur Loves Plastic and by
Jeremy Gluck)
3 Vast - from "Beaten & Pureed," 2005
4 Stay - unreleased, 2014
5 Time Wiggle - from "Diminutive Dispatches," 2009
(featuring vocals by Carmelita Goff)
6 Naugahyde Ding Dong - from "Pink Wooden Bodies," 2006
7 Chantey Dance In Dada Pants - from "Sweat On A Blacksmith's Apron," 2007
(featuring Tapegerm Collective open loops by Blind Mime, Dave
Fuglewicz, Ed Drury, and International Garbage Man)
8 Padukem - from "The Somnambulist," 1997


Over its 34 years, the Taped Rugs family of artists has grown quite large. This podcast features a few of these bold Carpeteers and some of the rug weaving that they have done during the first years of the 21st Century. Each of the artists included in this set has an extensive discography of his own, and most have considerable artistic families of their own as well. Taped Rugs is quite proud to be in some way associated with all of them. Many more Taped Rugs recordings that feature many more Carpeteers are waiting for you here:

The Carpeteers

March 22, 2014

1 "Said In Seance" - Chris Phinney/C.Goff III (from “Maestros Of The Magnetic Age," 2005)
2 "Phonetiquette" - Tom Sutter/Michael Paull/C. Goff III (from "Ants In My Cabana," 2004)
3 "Lovely Lady Of LEDA 25177" – C. Goff III/Darlington Pair, (from "Suite For Zero Gravity Ballet," Ecco Hollow, 2013, and from "Caricature Masquerade," Taped Rugs, 2013)
4 "Fuerte Suerte" – Federico Barabino/C. Goff III (from "'Metamorphs," 2007)
5 "Feverish Fiction" - Eric Matchett w/Goff III (from "Nest", 2006)
6 "Dia Del Cangrejo De Dali" - Justynn Tyme w/Goff III (from "Gypsy Blood," 2008)
7 "Uhura" - Bret Hart/Hal McGee/C. Goff III (from "Meshed Mixages," 2002)


reDIScovered Disism

Disism =
Charles Rice Goff III +
Killr "Mark" Kaswan

The Disism reDIScovery series was born in 2012, after C. Goff III unearthed several cassette tapes of Disism in-studio improvisations and collages that had been recorded between 1988 and 1995. While a few brief portions of these tapes had been incorporated into Disism's official cassette releases, most of this recorded material had simply remained unheard and forgotten since its creation. To date, five volumes of the reDIScovery series have been created. There will be more. This podcast features recordings from each current volume. The full collection can be downloaded or streamed free of charge here:

February 1, 2014

1 "Knowing Listening Meaning" - from Boney Baloney, 2013, original recording 1988)
2 "Wrong With The Equipment" - from Reconstituted, 2012, original recording 1995)
3 "Back Pressure” - from DisFamiliar, 2012, original recording 1992)
4 "So Are The Laces" - from Architortuous, 2013, original recording 1993)
5 "Fa: A Note To Follow Fa" - from Finished Products In The Making, 2013, original recording 1993)